Conversations with my Ma…# 1

Ma and Me

Ma and Me

Along with my ongoing series about “Parenting” and things I learnt from my parents, starting today I am going ahead with a series on things I do not like about my parents… :).

Now I am perfect is an accepted fact. But then there are certain things I do not like to do. Please note the catchphrase here is “do not like to do” and not “that I cannot do” (hello am perfect and I can do everything). So one of those things which I do not like to do is cleaning my room. Ma on the other hand (and so was Baba), loves everything perfect. It’s like even at 4 am she wants the home to look like some guest will enter any minute. Nevertheless its a regular fight between us. So one day, I come home and Ma is livid at me. Here is a sample of the conversation we had :

Me : Are you upset? (I know she is cause her face is stern and she is not talking to me)

Ma: Yes

Me: Why?

Ma: Am I your maidservant? And that too an unpaid one?

Me: Is that a question which demands an answer from me? (somehow I know whatever I say, it will land me in trouble)

Ma: (Completely ignoring my question) Do you know, I work the entire day to keep this home spic and span and how long does it take for you to dirty everything? Go to your room and see. Everyday I clean this house and you come back and in 10 minutes you manage to make the entire home look like a shit-hole (Read: entire room is just my bedroom where no one ever enters and God knows how it would matter if it is in a mess)

Me : OK…so you cleaned it up. So why you angry?

Ma: Well I thought I potty-trained you when you were two. I was not aware that even at this age I had to go clean the shit my daughter makes. Hence I am angry…

END OF CONVERSATION…

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Comments

  • Mary Hudak-Collins  On February 17, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    Sounds like conversations between me and my kids. I’m always telling them that ‘M’ stands for Mary, not maid!

  • priyashmita  On February 17, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    LOL Mary…well what to do? Ma and me are always having such conversations…

  • Alejandro  On February 17, 2011 at 7:21 pm

    hey! that was me and also my mum in one and then different but the same..

    Cheers A

  • AJ  On February 17, 2011 at 8:11 pm

    Funny cuz it’s the other way around in my house. My mom makes a mess with the stuff she hoards like newspapers, coupons, fancy perfume bottles, and what-not. And they’re all over the place. She’d never want me to touch them; otherwise I’d just throw em all out! 🙂

    Sorry, in your case, I’m on team mom! :))

  • priyashmita  On February 17, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    @ AJ the problem in my home is also everyone is on Team Mom including my friends…NO1 SEEMS TO SIDE WITH POOR ME 🙂

  • Swati  On February 17, 2011 at 8:21 pm

    LOL Priya…sounds both like a conversation with my mom, and with my daughter. I think all moms are like that…nice post!!

  • priyashmita  On February 17, 2011 at 8:22 pm

    I know…Baba used to say all moms say the same thing. They go to a “Mom-language training school” before they come a Mom. Cause what Ma used to tell me, my grandma used to tell my dad 😛

  • Susan Deborah  On February 17, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    Like AJ, even I am with your mom here as I am a stickler for cleanliness and order. I always keep driving people nuts over order.

    Well, . . . now if I have kids and they are a teeny-weeny bit like you, they had it!

    Joy always,
    Susan

  • priyashmita  On February 17, 2011 at 9:03 pm

    Susan, I pity your kids…I hope the day I marry and turn into a mom I don’t behave this way 🙂

  • Kriti  On February 17, 2011 at 10:16 pm

    LOL – sounds familiar : )

    • priyashmita  On February 17, 2011 at 10:18 pm

      Ya Kriti…I can imagine all mothers talk this way 🙂

Leave a Reply

